Call for Symposia

PDF Call for Symposia                                                               

The Local Organizing Committee of the International Congress of Comparative Physiology and Biochemistry 2019 is actively working to organize an exciting meeting in Ottawa! It is with great pleasure that we now invite you to submit symposium proposals for the 10th ICCPB. Please refer to the following guidelines when preparing your proposals:

  1. Each member society of the International Association of Comparative Physiology and Biochemistry (IACPB) may propose up to 5 symposia.
  2. Non-member societies are also encouraged to submit proposals and to join the Association. Individuals may submit proposals directly to the ICCPB.
  3. Symposia will be allotted 2 h 30 min each.
  4. In keeping with the Association’s goal of bringing together international researchers, multiple organizers from different countries are recommended. Please consider a broad international contribution to each symposium.
  5. Symposia should feature four to five invited speakers in addition to speakers that will be selected from submitted abstracts.
  6. Each symposium should include a mix of established and early career researchers.
  7. Proposal format:
    1. Symposium title
    2. Organizers (names, titles, affiliations, e-mails, phone)
    3. A 300-word synopsis describing the symposium objectives and how it will contribute to the meeting.
    4. A tentative list of speakers (names, affiliations, e-mails) and tentative talk title/subject for each speaker. At this stage, the list of invited speakers does not need to be complete and confirmation of attendance from speakers is not required.
  8. To ensure fair coverage across the wide selection of specialties within our member societies, and to avoid redundancies, some of the proposed symposia will not be selected or may be only partly accommodated by combining them with others.
  9. We encourage symposium organizers to feature a range of approaches, covering the general theme of the congress: mechanisms and evolutionary processes.
  10. The above information should be e-mailed as an attached file (one page per symposium in .doc, .rtf, or .pdf format) to the address given below.
  11. The deadline for proposal submission is January 15th 2018..

Please note that the IACPB does not have regular sources of income and the participating societies do not provide financial contributions to IACPB. Therefore, the IACPB does not, as a rule, offer fee waivers to session organizers. Instead, it is expected that the individual symposia will receive support directly from their societies. Should the conference result in a net positive revenue after we have met all of our costs and financial commitments, travel grants will be offered out of this surplus. However, this cannot be guaranteed at the present time.

We also welcome proposals for plenary lecture speakers. The proposal should include the name of the speaker, their contact information, the tentative subject of their talk, and a short justification of the nomination.

We look forward to receiving your proposals and hosting you in Ottawa!

Charles-A. Darveau   President of IACPB; Chair, Local Organizing Committee

Jean-Michel Weber   Chair, Scientific Program Committee

Local Organizing Committee e-mail: 


List of current IACPB member societies and their delegates

ANZSCPB             Australia & New Zealand Society of CPB

APS/CEPS            American Physiological Society, Comparative and Evolutionary Physiology Section

CSZ                      Canadian Society of Zoologists

DZG                     Deutsche Zoologische Gesellschaft

ESCPB                  European Society of CPB

JSCPB                   Japanese Society for CPB

SASCPB                South American Society for CPB

SDP                      Societe de Physiologie

SEB                       Society for Experimental Biology

SICB/CPB             Society for Integrative & Comparative Biology, Division of CPB



Delegate Name



Peter Frappell


Berry Pinshow


Greg Goss


Thorsten Burmester


Elena Fabbri


Kosuke Tanaka


Marcelo Hermes-Lima


Marc Zelter


Craig Franklin


Theodore Garland, Jr.